Weekly newsletter

Erik Lamela Wins Puskás Award with Impressive Rabona Kick

Hungary Today 2022.01.18.

Argentinian striker Erik Lamela won this year’s Puskás award with his stunning rabona kick for Tottenham Hotspur against Arsenal. 

At the Best FIFA Football Awards 2021, held on Monday night, Lamela eventually beat Iranian Mehdi Taremi and Czech Patrik Schick in the competition. As a matter of fact, the star, who now plays for Sevilla FC, only won by one point, with Taremi’s bicycle kick, earning the top spot among fans. “Outstanding awareness and technique to pull off a driven rabona inside the penalty area,” according to FIFA commented on the winner goal.

The Puskás Award was established in 2009 by FIFA and is given to the player judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant goal, regardless of championship, gender, or nationality and scored without the result of luck or a mistake, and in support of fair play. The award honors legendary Hungarian footballer Ferenc Puskás.

Another “Hungarian connection” of the award ceremony was that Champions League winner Chelsea’s Thomas Tuchel was elected the Best FIFA Men’s Coach of 2021. And the German professional’s assistant coach at the London top club is none other than Hungarian Zsolt Lőw.


The other winners are:

  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player – Robert Lewandowski
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player – Alexia Putellas
  • The FIFA Fifpro Men’s World XI: Donnarumma; Dias, Bonucci, Alaba; Jorginho, Kante, De Bruyne; Ronaldo, Haaland, Lewandowski, Messi
  • The FIFA Fifpro Women’s World XI: Chistiane Endler; Lucy Bronze, Wendy Renard, Mille Bright, Magdalena Erikkson; Estafania Banini, Carli Lloyd, Barbara Bonansea; Vivianne Miedema, Marta, Alex Morgan
  • FIFA Fan Award – Denmark and Finland Fans
  • The FIFA Best Women’s Coach – Emma Hayes
  • FIFA Fair Play Award – Denmark National Team and Staff
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper – Edouard Mendy
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper – Christiane Endler
  • FIFA Best Special Award – Christine Sinclair
  • FIFA Best Special Award – Cristiano Ronaldo

featured image via MTI/EPA/FIFA/Harold Cunningham

    [1536x1536] => Array
            [width] => 1536
            [height] => 1536
            [crop] => 

    [2048x2048] => Array
            [width] => 2048
            [height] => 2048
            [crop] =>