Weekly newsletter

Péter Gulácsi Nominated for Best Goalkeeper of Year Award

Hungary Today 2021.11.03.

The International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) has published a list of those who could be titled as the best goalkeeper of 2021. The 20-strong list includes Hungarian Péter Gulácsi, who plays for RB Leipzig.

The organization founded the award in 1987, and was won last year by Bayern München’s Manuel Neuer. It was the fifth time the German goalkeeper had been recognized.

The 31-year-old Gulácsi won silver with his club in the Bundesliga and German Cup this season, reaching the last eight of the Champions League, and was part of the Hungarian national team at the European Championship, sports daily Nemzeti Sport reports.

The list of the possible winners is as follows:

  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy, AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Real Madrid)
  • Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark, Leicester City)
  • Jordan Pickford (England, Everton)
  • David de Gea (Spain, Manchester United)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern München)
  • Ederson (Brazil, Manchester City)
  • Édouard Mendy (Senegal, Chelsea)
  • Emiliano Martínez (Argentina, Aston Villa)
  • Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atlético Madrid)
  • Péter Gulácsi (Hungary, RB Leipzig)
  • Keylor Navas (Costa Rica, Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Allison (Brazil, Liverpool)
  • André Onana (Cameroon, Ajax)
  • Mohamed el-Senavi (Egypt, al-Ahli)
  • Matt Turner (USA, New England Revolution)
  • Andre Blake (Jamaica, Philadelphia Union)
  • Pedro Gallese (Peru, Orlando City)
  • Guillermo Ochoa (Mexico, Club América)
  • Amir Abedzadeh (Iran, Marítimo/Ponferradina)

At the end of November 2021, the IFFHS will announce the winners of the Awards 2021 in all categories.

Featured image via Tibor Illyés/MTI

    [1536x1536] => Array
            [width] => 1536
            [height] => 1536
            [crop] => 

    [2048x2048] => Array
            [width] => 2048
            [height] => 2048
            [crop] =>