Weekly newsletter

The 2021 New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) Annual Awards is dedicated to Innovators in Health. The winners include the Hungarian mRNA Pioneer Katalin Karikó and fellow researcher Drew Weissman.

The NYAM honored Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman for their outstanding work in biomedical sciences.

NYAM’s website states: “This year’s honorees are scientists and healthcare leaders whose work has helped us understand and respond to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, address its devastating impacts, and move the world toward a healthier future. They have made breakthroughs and innovations that will change the face of healthcare for years to come, leading to new opportunities to build a healthier world.”

Katalin Karikó Receives Prestigious Cancer Research Award for mRNA Technology
Katalin Karikó Receives Prestigious Cancer Research Award for mRNA Technology

Karikó and her fellow researchers won the award "for their pivotal roles in the research and development that have led to novel mRNA-based therapeutic approaches that are currently being used to fight cancer and infectious diseases."Continue reading

In Karikó’s bio, it is also mentioned that “She received her Ph.D. in biochemistry from University of Szeged, Hungary, in 1982,” as well as that she already received the Rosenstiel Award, Széchenyi Prize, Semmelweis Award, Wilhelm Exner Medal, Reichstein Medal, Princess Asturias Award, and the Vilcek Prize.

According to the website of NYAM, at the virtual event, there were opening remarks by Anthony Fauci, director of the US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and the Chief Medical Advisor to President Biden.

In addition to Katalin Karikó, seven researchers, health professionals, and organizations received this year’s NYAM award.

Featured image via Csilla Cseke/MTI