news letter

Weekly newsletter

Hungary’s Sziget Festival Wins Best Line-Up at 2017 European Festival Awards

By Fanni Kaszás // 2018.01.18.

The 9th European Festival Awards was held on 17 January in Groningen, to celebrate another fantastic year for the festival and music industry. This time around, Budapest’s Sziget Festival came home with the award for the Best Line-up of the year.

Sziget, also known as the Island of Freedom, was nominated in three categories of the Best Major European Festival division. In the Best Line-up category, Sziget defeated such big names as Glastonbury (England), Roskilde (Denmark) or Lollapalooza (Germany). The shortlist for the best 10 festivals of 2017 was drawn up by music industry experts and the final results were decided by popular vote. Sziget said the Line-up of the Year award was based not only on the headliners but on all performers appearing at the event.

Last year, Sziget won the award for the Artist’s Favourite Festival, while previously they were honored with another first place in the Best Line-Up category and twice has won the festival’s most prestigious award, that of Best Major European Festival.

In 2016, Sziget also bagged the Lifetime Achievement Award, granted posthumously to the festival’s booker, Dan Panaitescu, who had passed away in a car accident. Organizers renamed the festival’s main venue to “Dan Panaitescu Main Stage” in 2016 to honor his memory.

Hungary Today also spent time on the Island of Freedom this summer, rocking out with incredible Chinese-Mongolian rock stars, wandering through a surreal inflated playground that seemed straight from the latest Blade Runner, and, perhaps least memorably, watching Iggy Azalea dial it in. We also learned more about what goes into running such a colossal musical endeavor through an interview with one of Sziget’s chief organizers.

Another Hungarian name was among the winners at this year’s European Festival Awards: Fruzsina Szép, former organizer of Sziget Festival, now the head of Lollapalooza Berlin, won the Award for Excellence and Passion.

via MTI, Pollstar