news letter Our mobile application

Weekly newsletter

First Time Ever: Hungarian Goal among Puskás Award’s Top Ten

Ábrahám Vass 2019.08.21.

For the first time since its foundation in 2009, a Hungarian goal made it among the ten nominees for the FIFA Puskás Award. Public can now vote on Dániel Zsóri’s incredible bicycle kick to make it to the top three.

This was Zsóri’s, aged 18, first goal (in his second game) in the top flight of Hungarian football. The forward, substituting with nine minutes remaining, went on to score an incredible overhead kick in the 93rd minute, helping Debrecen to a much-desired victory against league leader and later champion Ferencváros.

The other nominees of this year’s edition are Matheus Cunha (BRA), Zlatan Ibrahimović (SWE), Lionel Messi (ARG), Ajara Nchout (CMR), Fabio Quagliarella (ITA), Juan Fernando Quintero (COL), Amy Rodriguez (USA), Billie Simpson (NIR), and Andros Townsend (ENG).


The Puskás Award was established in 2009 by FIFA in order to reward the player who scored the “most beautiful” goal of the year. The award honors legendary Hungarian footballer Ferenc Puskás. He played as the striker for Real Madrid in the late 1950s and 1960s and was a central member of the highly successful Hungarian Aranycsapat (Golden Team, Magic Magyars).

Public voting on will close on September 1, 2019 at midnight. The top three goals will then be put to a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the 2019 FIFA Puskás Award winner. The winner will be revealed at the Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 held on September 23rd at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Italy. Former awardees include Cristiano Ronaldo, Olivier Giroud and Ibrahimović, while last year’s number one, Mo Salah’s goal against local rival Everton is still debated by many.

featured image by MTI/Zsolt Czeglédi