news letter

Weekly newsletter

FINA Budapest 2017: These Are The Sports Of The World Aquatics Championship

By Robert Velkey // 2017.05.25.

The 17th edition of the FINA World Aquatics Championships will be held in Budapest and in Balatonfüred, Hungary from 14–30 July 2017. The Aquatics Championship will be the biggest sports event the country has ever hosted, bringing about 2.500 athletes of six disciplines to Hungary.

Our last article about the championships introduced the venues of the programs. This time we will have a look at the sports of the FINA World Aquatics Championships.

FINA currently oversees competition in five aquatics sports: swimming, diving, synchronized swimming, water polo, and open water swimming. Beginning in 2013, high diving emerged as a discipline within FINA. FINA also oversees “Masters” competition (for adults) in its disciplines.


The competition of open water swimming is a water sport that requires the competitors to cover a distance in open water. The programme includes 5km team and men’s and women’s 5km, 10km and 25km races.

In 1991, open water swimming events were introduced to the programme of the World Championships, for a couple of editions only the 25km events were contested then the shorter distances were added, 5km in 1998 and 10km in 2001. Recently the FINA/HOSA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup circuit offers elite racing opportunities (and fine prize money) for the best open water competitors.


The discipline of high diving evolved from cliff diving -jumping into water from natural cliffs or rocks. In high diving, artificial constructions are used instead: platforms 20 and 27 metres high.

High diving is the act of diving into water from relatively great heights. Athletes perform dives from a tower on which special diving platforms are set up. Women jump from a 20-metre high platform while men jump from a 27-metre high one. In case of men this means a free-fall of almost 3 seconds and similarly to cliff diving competitors (both men and women) need to reach water by their feet. This is because all possible measures need to be taken in order to avoid injuries, with special respect to the fact that male divers reach a speed of almost 90km/h when they splash.

High diving as a sport was first introduced at the 20th FINA Technical Congress and was officially included in the programme of the 2013 FINA World Championships in Barcelona.


Ballet in the water or synchronised swimming. This discipline is a graceful, feminine sport, where ladies (and as of recently mixed duets) perform different technical elements, formations in and under the water surface accompanied to music.

Synchronised swimming has been part of the World Aquatics Championships since the beginning. From 1973 through 2001, the World Aquatics Championships featured solo, duet and team competitions. In 2003, a free routine combination, comprising elements of solo, duet and team, was added.



Events are held at distances from 50 meters to 1,500 meters. At the World Championships the morning session includes preliminary heats while the evening one features semi-finals and finals. Based on the results of preliminary heats, athletes with the best time advance to the next stage.

In case of longer distances and relays, 8 participants showing the best competitive time in preliminary heats qualify for the finals, which are on the same day, except for the 800m and 1,500m where events are held on the following day. In the 50m, 100m and 200m events the 16 fastest swimmers from the preliminaries qualify to the semi-finals. The eight fastest swimmers of the semis go through to the finals conducted on the following day.

In 1908, the world swimming association Federation Internationale de Natation des Amateurs (FINA) was formed. The aquatics discipline of swimming has been the core component of every edition of the FINA World Aquatics Championships since its introduction in 1973.



Water polo is a team water sport. The game consists of four quarters in which the two teams attempt to score goals scoring by throwing the ball into the opponent’s goal. A team consists of thirteen athletes six field players and one goalkeeper in the water at any one time.

Men’s water polo is a core part of the FINA World Championships since its first edition in 1973. Women’s water polo was added in 1986. A second tournament series, the FINA Water Polo World Cup, has been held every other year since 1979.


FINA or “Fédération Internationale de Natation” (English: International Swimming Federation) is the international federation recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) for administering international competition in water sports.

FINA was founded on 19 July 1908 in the Manchester Hotel in London, UK at the end of the 1908 Summer Olympics by the Belgian, British, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian and Swedish Swimming Federations.


Previously on FINA Budapest 2017

FINA Budapest 2017: These Are The Venues Of The 17th World Aquatics Championships To Be Held in Hungary

via:; budapest2017

photos:; budapest2017