Weekly newsletter

European Womens’ Handball Championships To Be Co-Hosted By Hungary

szilagyi.sandor 2014.12.01.

The European Womens’ Handball Chanmpionships will be hosted jointly by Hungary and Croatia in December. The preliminary rounds will be held in the Hungarian cities of Győr and Debrecen, the subsequent rounds in Croatia – in the capital Zagreb, Osijek and Varaždin – and the finals in Budapest between 19 and 21 December.

The best teams play eight matches in the tournament. At present, the strongest teams are Denmark, France, Spain, Poland, Russia, as well as the EURO 2013 champions Montenegro and Olympic champions, Norway. The winners of this championship will also automatically qualify for a place in the Olympics in Rio in 2016. There are high hopes for Hungarian handball at both national and club level nowadays. Two years ago, for example, Hungary won a bronze medal in EURO 2012 in Serbia.

Depending on its results, the Hungarian team will play on the following days:  7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, and 19-21 December. Beyond quaifying for participation at the 2016 Summer Olympics, the winner of the tournament will also gain the right to enter the 2015 World Women’s Handball Championship, to be held in Denmark in December next year.

The European Handball Federation (EHF) announced in April 2011 that the joint bid of Hungary and Croatia had beat Turkey to host this year’s European tournament.
The European Womens’ Handball Championships have been organised biannually by the EHF since 1994. Following the qualifiers, teams from sixteen nations take part in the tournament. The Hungarian national team came first in Romania in the year 2000 and won the bronze medal three times.

Hungary’s matches in Group A:
07.12. 20:30 Hungary – Russia;
09.12. 20:30 Poland – Hungary;
11.12.  20:30 Hungary – Spain.

via gotohungary.hu
photo: dailynewshungary.hu