Weekly newsletter

EP Elections: Ballot Paper Order Revealed

Péter Cseresnyés 2019.04.24.

The National Election Committee (NVB) has drawn in which order the parties will appear on the upcoming EP election ballot paper.

The process was performed by two members of the body, Éva Bozsóki and Péter Rádi, and the end results are the following: 1. Egységes Magyar Nemzeti Néppárt (United Hungarian National Populist party), 2. Socialist-Párbeszéd, 3. Magyar Kétfarkú Kutya Párt (Hungarian Two-tailed Dog party), 4. Jobbik, 5. Fidesz-KDNP, 6. Momentum, 7. Tea Párt Magyarországért (Tea Party for Hungary), 8. Democratic Coalition, 9. Mi Hazánk Mozgalom (Our Homeland), 10. Magyar Munkáspárt (Hungarian Labour party) and 11. LMP.

This is the maximum number of parties allowed to appear on the ballot papers during the EP election on May 26.

However, this could see a reduction should the number of valid recommendations fall below the 20 000 piece limit dictated by the applicable legislation.

The NVB registered seven parties by Tuesday: governing parties Fidesz and the Christian Democrats, the Democratic Coalition, the Socialist-Párbeszéd, the liberal Momentum, the green party LMP,  the opposition nationalist Jobbik and Mi Hazánk Mozgalom.

This has been followed by four more: the Hungarian Labour party, the Hungarian Two-tailed Dog party, the Egységes United Hungarian National Populist party and the Tea party.

The ballot paper will show the ordinal number, name and emblem of the parties listed, as well as the pertaining electoral district and the names of the first five candidates.

Featured photo via valasztas.hu