Weekly newsletter

Coronavirus – Orbán: Hungary Will Not Allow Entry of non-EU Citizens

MTI-Hungary Today 2020.07.02.

Hungary will not allow citizens of non-EU countries, except for Serbia, to enter Hungary because that would be against the health interest of Hungarians, Prime Minister Viktor Orbán said on Facebook on Thursday, after a discussion of a recent EU proposal.

The EU proposal that member states should reopen their borders to citizens of 14 countries outside the bloc was discussed in the interior ministry in the morning.

Orbán said a decision had been made that a corridor for travellers transiting Hungary would be reinstalled.

Travellers passing through the country will be required to use the designated route similarly to rules that were in place during the peak period of the coronavirus epidemic, Orbán said.

Inspection at Hungary’s borders will remain strict, he said.

Featured photo by Tamás Kovács/MTI