news letterOur mobile application

Weekly newsletter

Budapest To Host Red Bull Air Race In 2015

szilagyi.sandor 2014.11.26.

Next year will see the world’s best stunt pilots competing in eight cities – among them Budapest – across seven countries in the Red Bull Air Race aerobatic tournament. Organisers officially introduced the calendar of events for 2015 in Chiba, Japan.
The sequence of races will begin in the United Arab Emirates in mid-February; the field will arrive to Hungary in early July, together with a former world champion, Hungarian Péter Bessenyei. Mr. Bessenyei came first in the Air Race’s complex score contest in 2003.

The world championship, which is known to be the world’s fastest of its kind, was first held in 2005 and was organised again this year following a three-year pause. In a change to earlier rules, members of the field now have to compete with aeroplanes equipped with uniform engines, propellers and exhaust system, the centrifugal force affecting pilotscannot be larger than 10 G and the inflatable gates along which contestors complete the track are now 20 metres high instead of the previous 20.

The last time Budapest hosted the Red Bull Air Race was in 2009.

The Hungarian government supports the organisation of the event between 2015 and 2017. In a government resolution published on 15 August in Magyar Közlöny, the country’s official journal, the cabinet indicated that it has called upon the competent minister to ensure that the contracts necessary are concluded between the owner of the series’ rights and Hungaroring Sport Zrt., which will be responsible for holding the event. The Minister for National Development and the Minister for National Economy have been instructed to set aside the financial assets necessary for holding the event, which is not to exceed than EUR 6 million (HUF 1.9 billion) per year.

The 2015 race calendar of the Red Bull Air Race is as follows:

13 – 14 February: United Arab Emirates, Abu Dhabi
16 – 17 May: Japan, Chiba
30 – 31 May: Russia, Sochi
4 – 5 July: Hungary, Budapest
15 – 16 August: Great Britain, Ascot
5 – 6 September: Austria, Spielberg
26 – 27 September: United States, Fort Worth
17 – 18 October: United States, Las Vegas