Andrássy Castle In Tiszadob Reopens To Visitors After €7 Million Refurbishment
Tamás Székely 2015.12.09.
One of the most impressive buildings of North-East Hungary, the Andrássy castle in the village of Tiszadob, has reopened its gate to visitors after a large-scale restoration work undertaken between 2011 and 2014. The 2700 square metres large castle and the surrounding park was built between 1880 and 1885 to the order of Count Gyula Andrássy, the first Hungarian prime minister and second Foreign Minsiter of Austria-Hungary. The 2,2 billion forint (approx. EUR 7,1 million) refurbishment project was funded both by the Hungarian government and the European Union.
The castle was built by the plans of German-born Hungarian architect Artúr Meining on a hill close to the Tisza river, above the river flats. With its two floors and many towers built in classicist style and later reconstructed in romantic style, the building resembles the most a Gothic fortified castle. In the northern part, under the slope a 1.5 acre French formal garden was also refurbished. The most interesting experience is the so-called boxwood labyrinth that is interrupted by a group of yews. In accordance with the trends of the era, in front of the castle a pleasure-ground was built, with boxwoods, yews and a statue in the middle.
The aim of the restoration project was to enable Tiszadob to host a range of cultural attractions. One part of the project was the exact reconstruction of the castle and the park with permanent and temporary exhibitions, rooms and halls with antique objects from the era of the castle. All of this is related to the development of the so-called Andrássy Cultural route, a joint program of five different castles related to the historic family. Thus making the castle of Tiszadob a touristic symbol of Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg county.