The reconstruction of the old former horse tram stop’s building is underway. The renewed building will be fascinating and more functional than it ever was before.
Good news for the habitants of the Zugliget district of Budapest and for those who like to go out to the nature from the capital: the renewed renovation efforts on the building at the chair lift station of Zugliget are going well, and the building is starting to give an impression of what its final form will look like.
The story of the building begins in 1860. At that time, the horse tramway was built with the support of Béle Festetich. Even then, the area was a popular hiking area. Until 1896 the trams were run by horsepower; only after the nation’s millennium celebrations in 1896 (a huge, World’s Fair-esque event celebrating 1000 years of Hungary’s existence) would electric tramways be introduced. After four fatal accidents, the station was relocated to a flatter area. Over the course of the years the building underwent many reconstructions, even becoming a house at one point.
In 1940 the building became the property of the government of the district; although it was designated as a historic landmark, it was not used. As a consequence of this neglect, the building suffered greatly during the latter half of the twentieth century.
The reconstruction and renewing works started in 2017. According to the plans there will be a community center, a terrace with a restaurant. As we can see from the design plans, they will build a nice park around the long ago horse tram stop of Zugliget as well.
Close to this building can be found the end of the cableway you can use to take a cool ride up to the János-Hill.